Annual LTER Committee Report

for 2010-11

Today's Date: May 4 2011

Committee: Climate and Waters

Chair/Co-chairs: Bruce Hayden

Current committee composition and changes in 2010-11 (since May 2010): 1 rep per site (sea appendix

below)

Frequency / Number of times met in 2010-11 (since May 2010): None

Activities / accomplishments since May 2010: [bulleted list sufficient]. Two surveys of the committee

members regarding proposed additions to the Oxford series and for updating climdb and hydrodb

Plans for leadership transitions, if any: None planned at this time.

Plans for 2011-12:

Other information pertinent to Committee activities: While the full membership of the committee was

reluctant to set forth on the design and work for either a new Oxford book on climate change or

hydrology at sites, several committee members offered to help out on the climate change Oxford book.

A number of sites are engaged in cross-site network level climate change research. Such work would

help populate a Climate Change Oxford volume in the years ahead. The next All Scientist Meeting at

Estes Park may be the best venue to advance the concept of a new Oxford book. As such a 4 or 5 person

executive committee could plan such a meeting.

APPENDIX: Committee Membership

Bruce Hayden (VCR)

Nell Caine (NWT)

Douglas Moore (SEV)

Kurt Chawanski (NWT)
Sheron Stammerjohn (PAC)
Adrian Burd
John Campbell (HBR)
Emery Boose (HFR)
Mark Stieglotz (ARC)
Don Henshaw (AND)
Danila Dijon (GCE)
Pete Edmunds (MCR)
Steve Davis (FCE)
Kathy Welch (MCM)
Steve Hamilton (KBS)
Sergio Dos Santi
Peter Doran (MCM)
John Anderson (JRN)
James Brunt (LNO)
Mark Losleben (USA NPN)
Art Miller (CCE)
John Magnuson (NTL)
Glenn Juday (BZN)
Kirstin Dow (BES)
Julia James (AND)