The term of the current LTER Science Council chair ends at the Spring 2019 Science Council meeting. LTER Bylaws require the election of a chair-elect at the May 2018 Science Council meeting. A Nominating Committee has been formed to develop a slate of candidates for the position.

Relevant sections of bylaws:
IV, 2.1 Chairperson. The Chair of the Science Council shall be elected by the Science Council from within the scientific community of the LTER Network. The Executive Board shall appoint an ad hoc Nominating Committee that will, at least 60 days prior to the election, solicit nominations for Chair from the LTER scientific community. At least 30 days prior to the election the Executive Director of the NCO will distribute résumés of each nominee to the Science Council. Election of a Chair will be by majority vote of the Science Council. The election will be held at the Science Council meeting at least one (1) year prior to the expiration of the current Chair’s term (i.e. every other year). The individual elected shall serve as ChairElect for one (1) year prior to assuming office as Chair and during this time shall be an exofficio, non-voting member of the Executive Board. The term of office for the Chair will be two (2) years. The Chair may stand for re-election for one consecutive two (2) year term.

IV, 2.2 Chairperson-Elect If, for any reason, the Chair shall be unable to carry out the duties of that office, he/she shall be succeeded immediately by the Chair-Elect for the remainder of the term. The Chair-Elect shall succeed to fill his/her term at the end of the substitution.