This is the report of the LTER National Advisory Board which met at the Sevilleta LTER site, New Mexico, on December 10 and 11, 1998. Membership of the Board is as follows: Ann Bartuska, U.S. Forest Service; Jim Beach, University of Kansas; Mary Firestone, University of California, Berkeley; Bill Heal, United Kingdom; Jim MacMahon, Utah State University; Bill Murdoch, University of California, Santa Barbara; Paul G. Risser (chair), Oregon State Univiversity; and Rebecca Sharitz, Savannah River Ecology Laboratory.