The advisory board of public engagement with science (PES) experts and representatives of other STEM research networks and organizations promotes accountability of the work and broadens its impact beyond the
LTER Network. We convene these advisors on an annual basis to review project activities, elicit feedback for improvement, and identify opportunities for dissemination. Knowledge generated from this project will be relevant to STEM research organizations beyond the LTER Network, particularly the environmental research networks, field stations, and marine laboratories of the U.S., many of which are represented on our advisory board.

External Advisory Board

  • Elyse Aurbach, Public Engagement Lead, Center for Academic Innovation, University of Michigan;
  • Jerad Bales, Executive Director, Consortium of Universities for the Advancement of Hydrologic Research (CUAHSI), leader of the Critical Zone Collaborative Network;
  • Cathlyn Davis* (formerly Stylinski), Tenured Researcher, University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science;
  • Michael DeLuca, Executive Board, National Association of Marine Labs; President, Northeast Association of Marine and Great Lakes Laboratories;
  • Mónica Feliú-Mójer, Director of Communications and Science Outreach, Ciencia Puerto Rico;
  • Jameela Jafri, STEM education consultant;
  • Nia Keith, Vice President, Diversity Equity Inclusion Justice, Mass Audubon;
  • Reyhaneh Maktoufi, Rita Allen Foundation Civic Science Fellow;
  • Sunshine Menezes, Professor, University of Rhode Island;
  • Nalini Nadkarni, Professor, University of Utah;
  • Susan Renoe, Executive Director, Advancing Research Impact in Society;
  • David Sittenfeld, Museum of Science, Boston;
  • Hilary Swain, Executive Director, Archbold Biological Station, member of the Organization for Biological Field Stations;
  • Amanda Stanley, Executive Director, COMPASS
  • Travis Tangen, Education and Outreach Manager, Wisconsin Institute for Discovery.